Regions of Spain

There are fifty provinces (provincias) in Spain. They are grouped into:

  • 17 Autonomous Communities (comunidades autónomas),
  • and 2 African Autonomous Cities (ciudades autónomas); Ceuta and Melilla in  Morocco (Maruecos). Located off the coast of Morocco, to the east of Melilla, are the Chafarine Islands (las Islas Chafarinas), which are also Spanish territories.

The map of Spain (with province‘s below) shows the various regions of Spain, which are known as the Autonomous Communities (las Comunidades Autónomas).

Click on the “Map of Region of Spain” for more information.

Map of Region of Spain

Map of the Region of Spain

Regions of Spain

Spain’s autonomous regions have extensive legislative and executive autonomy, having their own parliaments and governments. However, the power that each region has differs. The Basque Country, Catalonia, Galicia, and Andalusia enjoy more autonomous functions than the others due to a history of past agreements with the central state, stretching back over many centuries.

The regions with less functions have been granted autonomous status since the creation of the Spanish Constitution of 1978. The main reason for this was to dilute potential regional separatist views in those regions which did not have a history of past agreements with the Spanish government.

The Autonomous Communities

AndalusiaAragonAsturiasBalearic IslandsBasque CountryCanary IslandsCantabriaCastile La ManchaCastile LeonCataloniaExtremaduraGaliciaLa RiojaMadridMurciaNavarreValencia

The Autonomous Cities


Ceuta Melilla The Canary Islands The Balearic Islands Murcia Valencia Castile-La Mancha Madrid Extremadura La Rioja Castile-Leon Aragon Navarre Basque Country Andalucia Catalonia Cantabria Asturias Galicia